Chocolate and Mocha Cakes

Matet, a friend, requested 2 cakes for her 3-in-1 event: birthday, thanksgiving and housewarming šŸ™‚ She specifically requested that it shouldn’t be fondant and that she likes only a very simple cake. Oh, and not only a round cake but some other shaped cake that I know of. As what you have noticed from this site, I seldom do cakes which aren’t round LOL Maybe I just made twice or thrice butI’m more comfortable with round cakes. So after exchanging messages, she agreed that I’ll just do a 9-inch chocolate round cake and a 9×13 mocha cake.

For the 9-inc chocolate cake, Matet said she wants it to be the same as what I have prepared 2 years ago (I think). That cake was decorated with Kit Kat and white and chocolate maltesers. I told her that maltesers are quite costly and I’ll just replace it with something else. What I came up with was just topped the cake with piped plain Swiss Meringue buttercream and sprinkled with few chocolate chips. I think it turned out cute šŸ™‚ Oh! I had a problem handling the Kit Kat because it looked quite melted! It was too late to put the Kit Kat in the fridge. I have to stick it to the cake as the ganache will soon be setting. The overall cake still looks great, though šŸ™‚

Chocolate cake filled and frosted with Ganache. Decorated with Kit Kat with top piped with plain Swiss Meringue Buttercream

For the 9×13 mocha cake, I had a hard time thinking of how to decorate it LOL

I think it would be too plain if it’s just smooth top and sides. Well, the other reason is I’m not comfortable finishing this cake with just smoothing it! I mean, I’m a mess with that style especially when using buttercream šŸ˜¦ I can’t seem to get it straight and smooth! And I know that it will take me lots of hours to do it. Then came the thought of the piped roses! Oh, I was really planning to do a rose cake decoration but I was imagining it for a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing. But then again, I can also use that decoration for this 9×13 cake. The piping was a lot easier for me. I love it. My flatmates said it looks like a wedding cake LOL Anyways, the mocha cake turned out to be great, don’t you think? šŸ™‚

Mocha cake filled and frosted with Espresso Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Mocha cake filled and frosted with Espresso Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message

