Craving for a carrot cake

I mean reallllyyy craving to eat a carrot cake since Thursday. I haven’t found a recipe that’s easy to follow and also the fact that I’m too lazy to grate carrots arrgghh! I wish I have a food processor LOL.

Since I don’t have much projects lately, I thought that this is the best time to bake one and I can also practice photographing cakes. That’s bake, shoot and eat hehehe 🙂 You see, I mostly bake chocolate fudge/mud cake because it’s sturdier for fondant finishing. I bake mocha cakes but not very often. So I’m really excited to try a new one and to photograph a sliced cake! 🙂

I found this recipe from the All Recipes website (with really great reviews) and followed it. Instead of 2 cups white sugar, I used 1 cup white sugar + 1 cup brown sugar because I want the carrot cake to have a darker color. I didn’t include the pecans because I don’t have any 🙂 I used just a bit of raisins. I just realized how easy it was to prepare and bake this cake (except the part of manually grating 5 medium carrots LOL).

I prepared and baked it yesterday (Saturday) in two 8-inch round pans and after it cooled down, I stored it in the freezer because I won’t be able to frost it yet (church @ 4pm for me 🙂 ) and I’ll be home late. Then before bedtime, I transferred the cake in the fridge to thaw it there.

Today, I prepared the cream cheese and frosted it. The cake was still moist! Mmmm, delicious! I mean it! My only problem is, I couldn’t find a less sweeter cream cheese icing recipe. I didn’t follow the icing stated on that recipe because I know it will be too sweet (4 cups of confectionery sugar? geez)! I used the following recipe but it’s still sweet *sigh* Anyways, I decorated the cake with crushed walnuts and 3 small carrot fondant toppers 🙂

Cream Cheese Frosting (my way!)

250g cream cheese,room temperature
180g unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tsp clear vanilla extract
230g confectionary sugar/powdered sugar/icing sugar
Wilton White-White Icing color (optional)

– Beat cream cheese and butter just to combine
– Add vanilla extract then beat again to combine
– Gradually add the sifted sugar
– Beat until smooth and creamy
– Optional: For a few minutes, I noticed that the icing was a bit yellowish. So I added just a few drops of Wilton icing color because I want this icing really white!
– I stored the icing in the freezer for just 5 minutes before I use it to frost the cake.

This icing is less sweet but then the carrot cake itself is already a bit sweet. So maybe next time, I’ll reduce the sugar in the carrot cake recipe 🙂 Anyhow, I’m happy that I have satisfied my cravings 🙂 and the carrot cake recipe is really a keeper! I’ll definitely make this again or try it in cupcakes (with less sugar, of course!) *wink*

4 thoughts on “Craving for a carrot cake

  1. For less sweet icing you can try using half mascarpone cheese (slightly sweet tasting in itself, but less ‘sickly’ than sugar) and ha;f Philadelphia, which is more savoury. Then add the sugar to it it taste. Makes for something a bit creamier and richer, but less over-sweet, especially to go with carrot cake!

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message

