Dinosaur birthday cake

I love preparing cute, dainty cakes. Oh, especially in pink! Last Saturday the cake was different and was a challenge for me. This was the 2nd reason of my crazy week 28. (The first one was the purple cake)

The dinosaur birthday cake was requested by Olga for Luigi’s 4th birthday. Her son loves dinosaurs. She first suggested the design of a sculptured dinosaur cake which I admittedly can’t make LOL I have Debbie Brown’s 50 Easy Party Cakes and she has the Dippy Dinosaur included in that book. But I’m also not comfortable with the shape LOL So I searched for other designs with Debbie Brown’s dinosaur.

I found this cute, clean dinosaur cake from flickr and suggested to Olga. We also both agreed on how cute the dinosaur’s footprints. From there, the cake was finalized. Although I’m still nervous on how to execute the dragon LOL

Luigi’s cake was an 8-inch square cake and was finished with a chocolate fondant. The dinosaur’s body was a half dome of (5-inch in diameter) styrofoam ball covered with fondant. The neck was molded from rice krispies treat (RKT) while the dinosaur’s head was from fondant. The neck was quite thick actually LOL It’s because the RKT quickly became hard and difficult to shape.

Although it was hard to tell if the Dinosaur was smiling, if you closely stare it, you will see that it’s actually smiling hehehe

The Luigi signage was also made of RKT covered with fondant with wood finish. Two white lollipop sticks were used to hold the signage 🙂

The tree trunk was also in RKT.

Included in the cake was a message ‘Happy 4th Birthday Love, Nanay’ as requested by Olga. ‘Nanay’ is a Tagalog word for ‘mother’.

The delivery of the cake was also a challenge for me last Saturday. I told Olga that I will reach her place at 12:30pm. I was able to meet my own deadline of 11:30 am. Then it began to rain. Really hard. There was difficulty of carrying the cake box and another box of cookies. I was scared that I’ll slip or slide LOL! And I waited for a very long time to get a cab! grrr

When I reached Olga’s place, I was excited to see her reaction but she wanted to keep the cake from her son. But Luigi already saw me came in their house. After a while, Olga allowed her son to get a quick peek from the cake box. I was really happy that Luigi recognized the dinosaur. *Phew* Thank God! LOL

Thanks Olga for this request 🙂 I hope Luigi and his guests enjoyed the cake 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dinosaur birthday cake

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message

