Sofia’s Castle Cake

I had a pleasure of doing a castle cake for my friend’s daughter, Sofia. Mariz email’d me as early as July 12 to inform me about Sofia’s birthday 🙂 I was so excited when she asked me to bake a cake for her dear daughter’s first birthday.

The first thing came to my mind was a 2-tier Castle cake when she said that it’s a Princess themed birthday party. And then I’ve seen mydearbakes pretty cake and I was more inspired to do a castle cake 🙂

But she only wanted a 1-tier cake because its just for candle blowing. I still tried to make a 1-tier (6-inch) cake to look like a castle cake. The 4 towers/turrets were styrofoam cylinders and cones covered with fondant. The 2 little trees were styrofoam balls too!

There were also 12 cupcakes frosted with Swiss Meringue Buttercream (smbc).

The cute single flower topper was based on the tutorial I found when searching for a fondant banner. It’s from Viorica’s Cakes website. I was planning to make her a name banner for the castle cake but I don’t think there’s enough time for the fondant to dry. So I just adapted her flower technique 🙂 Even if her website is in a different language, the photos in her tutorial are easy to follow.

Thanks Mariz and Adi for this request 🙂 It was also nice to see you and Adi with your very cute Sofia yesterday 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sofia’s Castle Cake

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message

