A Nurse’s Cake

Iza requested a birthday cake for her colleague/friend in the hospital. When I asked her about the design of the cake, she said that it’s all up to me. Ahh, the green light of trying a new technique LOL But then again, there’s not enough time. Especially after finishing the 2 other cakes, I feel exhausted. I tried adapting one of Peggy Porschen’s design of piped 5-petal flowers attached to her cakes but I couldn’t seem to get the right piping! Arrggh! So on to the next plan.

I got the idea of pink and purple color scheme from their uniforms πŸ™‚ They wear this white Nurse uniform and there’s a vertical strip of alternating pink and purple in their collar.

This is a 6-inch chocolate fudge cake. The cake board was covered with fondant and stamped with butterflies. There are few cracks here and there in the cake. I didn’t like it 😦 It’s not that smooth. And I can see small bulges because the ganache was not fully set in. *sighs* That’s the price of making cakes more than I’m really capable of my time.

After I have decorated the cake with flowers, I was not satisfied. Thats why out of nowhere, 3 roses were then attached LOL

I thought I’ll be content after the roses. Not. There was something missing. But I hate over decorated cake. On the other hand, I hate the feeling of not being satisfied LOL So in a rush, I tried to complete a figurine for Grace. Yes. I made it in one hour! Although the head and body were just extras I already made and kept. I only have to make the hair, hands, feet, shoes and dress. The idea of a standing figurine was not possible. Instead I made her sit LOL Since its almost like she’s in a garden πŸ™‚

I have high respect for nurses. I admire their courage, patience and love for their work and the way they interact and try to connect with different people everyday. I never imagined of being a Nurse. I’m scared of wounds, blood etc. Even the hospital LOL Maybe if I’m confined for a few days in the hospital, I’ll lose a lot of weight because I will really lose my appetite. Geez.. bad idea for a weight loss πŸ˜› Just don’t mind me LOL

Thanks Iza for this request. I met Grace to give her the cake. She loves it! πŸ™‚ Happy birthday Grace! I hope you had a fun celebration with the cake πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A Nurse’s Cake

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message

