A Royal Blue Wedding Cake

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake

This is another late post of the wedding cake I made for Aileen and Joel last 12th of December 2012.

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-004

Aileen requested this like 3 or 4 months before her wedding. I was so excited to do another wedding cake.

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-001

When I came back from a 2-week holiday, it took me many weeks to recover from getting sick (coughs,cold and fever). Despite of this, I still have to go to my full-time job 😦 Bummer huh? It came to a point where I had to get an Xray because my coughing couldn’t stop. It was too late to back-out from this request. I was really praying hard that I’ll recover even for the week that I have to prepare and make this cake LOL

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-002

This is a 6-inch and 8-inch square cakes. The top tier was decorated with manually done royal icing scrolls. The bottom tier was decorated with quilt and edible silver buttons. It sounds easy but there’s a challenge here. The bride prefers the cake NOT to have the straight edges. Imagine that. After trying to learn how to cover cakes (I’m still learning!) with fondant and have those straight edges, here’s one request who prefers the pillowy-type edges. I tried, but I think I failed in that area LOL. I couldn’t make it look like pillowy-type. It requires very thick fondant covering, right?

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-010

For the cake topper, good thing I didn’t do any sugar figurines. Aileen chose to have this topper (I think it’s really cute!) which I bought from the baking supplies store.

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-007

Since the cake was not that tall, I made this cake stand. It’s 12-inch styrofoam/dummy square cake covered in white crepe paper then used the Wilton lace thing to decorate it.

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-009

I hope the newly wed couple and their guests enjoyed the cake 🙂

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-006

Thanks Aileen and Joel for this request. Congratulations and best wishes!

Royal_Blue_Wedding_Cake-005

Thank you for leaving a feedback/message